ge_title -->




Ministry of Health and Population (MOHP)


Ministry of Health and Population has been delivering preventive, curative, promotional and rehabilitative health care services and other health system related functions such as policy and planning, human resource development and mobilization, financing and financial management, and monitoring and evaluation. It has six Divisions: Administration Division, Policy, Planning and International Cooperation Division, Curative Services Division, Human Resources and Financial Management Division, Public Health Administration and Monitoring and Evaluation Division, and Population Division. There are five autonomous bodies established by law for education, research and service delivery purposes. In addition to these, there are four professional councils to provide accreditation to health-related schools/ training centres and to regulate care providers. There are three Departments under the MoHP: Department of Health Services (DoHS), Department of Ayurved (DoA) and Department of Drug Administration (DDA). The DoHS and other department of Drug responsible for formulating programs as per policy and plans, implementation, use of appropriate financial resources and accountability, and monitoring and evaluation. DDA is the regulatory authority for assuring the quality and regulating the import, export, production, sale and distribution of drugs. Department of Auyuberda offer care to the people and also implement health promotional activities.


Department of Health Services (DoHS) is responsible for delivering preventive, promotive and curative health services throughout Nepal. Director General (DG) is the organizational head of the DoHS. The recent reorganization of the DoHS included six Divisions: Management Division with infrastructure, planning, quality of care and management information system; Family Health Division with the responsibility of reproductive health care, including safe motherhood and neonatal health, family planning and Female Community Health Volunteers (FCHVs); Child Health Division covering nutrition. IMCI, and EPI; Epidemiology and Disease Control Division with the responsibility of controlling epidemics, Pandemic and endemic diseases as well as treatment of animal bites; Logistics Management Division covers procurement, supplies and management of logistics, equipments and services required by DoHS and below levels; and newly formed Primary Health Care Revitalization Division with the responsibility of carrying out activities for primary health care. Key functions of DoHS include:

  • Provide GoN with necessary technical advice in formulating health related policies, develop and expand health institutions established in line with these policies;
  • Determine requirement of manpower for health institutions and develop such manpower by preparing short and long term plans;
  • Manage procurement and supply of drugs, equipment, instruments and other logistics at regional, district and below levels;
  • Co-ordinate the activities and mobilize resources in the implementation of approved programs;
  • Manage the immediate solution of problems arising from natural disasters and epidemics;
  • Establish relationships with foreign countries and international institutions with the objective of enhancing effectiveness and developing health services and assist the Ministry of Health and Population in receiving and mobilizing foreign resources by clearly identifying the area of cooperation;
  • Create a conductive atmosphere to encourage the private sector, non-governmental organizations and foreign institutions to participate in health services by regular supervision and monitoring; Systematically maintain data, statements and information regarding health services, update and publish them as required;
  • Human resource management and development as per rules and regulations and assigned authority; and
  • Financial management of DoHS, RHDs, D/PHOs and settlement of irregularities.

Also Read:


Lok Sewa Aayog – HIV/ AIDS and STI

Leave a Comment